Heading to the Library of Congress

Jerry in Indianapolis

Harold Wesley “Jerry” Patrick in Indianapolis.

I will be in the Washington, DC area for work soon. That trip has given me a great excuse to spend some time at the Library of Congress. While I am there, I will to do some background research for the book I am writing about my paternal grandfather’s experience in World War II. 

So far, I have about 50 pages of notes and 50 images — photographs, V-Mails, postcards — for that project. I have researched Grandpa’s training as a navigator in the United States, as well as all of the missions he flew on B-17s from Glatton Airfield in the UK. The one major thing I am missing is insight into life on the base. I want to know what it was like to spend time there when not on a mission. My hope is that materials included in the Library of Congress’ Veterans History Project will help me fill in the gaps.

Have you done research at the LOC? Do you have any tips for a first timer?

2 thoughts on “Heading to the Library of Congress

  1. Have you come and gone?

    John Briol has a web site devoted to his late father John J. Briol Who was a ball turret gunner on B-17s stationed at Glatton. Excerpts and several full mission entries are listed from his war diary. http://www.cloudnet.com/~jfb/

    Cliff “CB” Digre flew with the 457th and was stationed at Glatton. He has just published a book based a diary he kept during the war – “Into Life’s School”. You can learn more about Cliff Digre’s book about his experiences with the 457th on his website. http://www.intolifesschool.com/. In addition to recording his own experience in the book, he has done research on his missions and includes loading lists and other official Air Force documents in his book.
    Main title: Into life’s school : my World War II memories / Clifford B. “CB” Digre.
    Edition: 1st ed.
    Published/Created: [Minneapolis, Minn. : C. Digre], c2009.
    Description: xii, 319 p.
    LC Call no: D790.253 457th .D54 2009

    Glatton Wartime Memories Project

    http://www.wartimememories.co.uk/airfields/glatton.html

    Title: Glatton/Conington /
    Author(s): Smith, John N.
    Publication: Peterborough : GMS Enterprises,
    Year: 2002
    Description: 46 p. : ill., ports. ; 22 cm.
    Language: English
    Series: Airfield focus ;; 50;
    Not in LC:

    Look in LC Online Catalog using Subject Heading:
    United States. Army Air Forces. Bombardment Group, 457th — History.

    • Thank you so much for the information! What fabulous resources! I set aside my genealogy research for a while, but now I’m back. I am very sorry it took so long to reply.

Leave a Reply

